Harewood Avenue, Pontefract, WF8 2ER

01977 791306


Harewood Centre Nursery School

Early Years Foundation Stage


A great to start to your child’s education

We plan the nursery curriculum around the seven areas of learning for the Early Years Foundation Stage, as set in the DFE guidance document. This document sets the Standards for Learning, Development and Care for children from birth to five.

EYFS Statutory Framework 2021

Copies of this document are available for any parent/carer to look at in school.

Children’s activities are planned to cover seven areas of learning.

  • The prime areas (3)
    • Communication and language
    • Physical development
    • Personal, social and emotional development
  • The specific areas (4)
    • Literacy
    • Mathematics
    • Understanding the world
    • Expressive arts and design

Each child is unique and we strive to meet individual needs by offering a broad and balanced curriculum.

Careful thought is always given to providing equal opportunities and multicultural education.