A great to start to your child’s education

We plan the nursery curriculum around the seven areas of learning for the Early Years Foundation Stage, as set in the DFE guidance document. This document sets the Standards for Learning, Development and Care for children from birth to five.

EYFS Statutory Framework 2017

Copies of this document are available for any parent/carer to look at in school.

Children’s activities are planned to cover seven areas of learning.

  • The prime areas (3)
    • Communication and language
    • Physical development
    • Personal, social and emotional development
  • The specific areas (4)
    • Literacy
    • Mathematics
    • Understanding the world
    • Expressive arts and design

Each child is unique and we strive to meet individual needs by offering a broad and balanced curriculum.

Careful thought is always given to providing equal opportunities and multicultural education.

Early Years Pupil Premium (EYPP)

For the financial year 2015/16 EYPP was paid at £300 per pupil. Seventeen children were in receipt of EYPP totalling £5000.55. This money was spent on additional staff to support these children through small group work. These children have shown to make rapid progress because of this extra help.

For the financial year 2016/17 EYPP is unchanged at £300 per pupil. Six pupils are in receipt of EYPP totalling £1800. This money is being used to support children in additional small group work targeting fine motor skills, speech and language and social skills.

Please contact us for further information about Harewood Nursery School on 01977 722835 or email us on headteacher@harewood.wakefield.sch.uk